Ohio.gov  |   State Agencies   |   Online Services
About the Boards

The Ohio Architects Board and the Ohio Landscape Architects Board are responsible for the regulation of the practices of architecture and landscape architecture in the State of Ohio. There are two boards, with one budget and one staff. The Ohio Architects Board was established in 1929 and the Ohio Landscape Architects Board was established in 1965.

The regulation of the two professions includes: issuing and renewing the licenses of properly qualified individuals; investigating complaints against licensees; monitoring compliance with mandatory continuing education requirements; and educating licensees and the consumers of the services provided by the board's licensees on the laws and rules that govern the practice of architecture and landscape architecture in Ohio and the board's role to promote and protect the health of the citizens of Ohio through effective regulation of the professions.

Important News and Announcements
Landscape Architect Renewal Information - Tuesday, November 01, 2016



Renewal notices have been emailed to all Active Landscape Architects. If you did not receive a renewal notice, your email address may not be on file with the Board, is out of date, or your license is not Active. Please contact Stephanie Happ at stephanie.happ@arc.ohio.gov with your email address and we will send you a renewal notice.

Please do not submit any Continuing Education documents until you receive an official audit notice from the Board. 

If your renewal notice did not contain a Security Code, please use the following steps:


  • Go to: https://elicense.ohio.gov/
  • Choose: Login/Create your account
  • Select: New User>I Have A License
  • Click on: Obtain a Security Code


The deadline to renew is 12/31/2016. The fee to renew is $125.00, payable online at https://elicense.ohio.gov/ by credit card or electronic check (ACH) only. Paper forms and mail in renewals are no longer accepted. In order to receive a receipt, you must enter your email address during the payment process. Check your spam folder if you do not receive a receipt via email. 


Do not renew your license unless you have completed the Continuing Education requirements. Information on the requirement is available at http://www.arc.ohio.gov/ContinuingEducation.aspx. 




Please do not submit any Continuing Education documents until you receive an official audit notice from the Board. 
ARC and LA Renewal Dates - Friday, October 07, 2016

Landscape Architect licenses expire on 12/31/2016. 

Architect licenses are valid through 12/31/2017

Firm licenses expire on 6/30/2017.

Online Services User Guide - Thursday, September 22, 2016

The Boards have changed to a new database, "eLIcense 3.0." New and existing licensees must register and create an account at https://elicense.ohio.gov/. A User Guide can be found here

NCARB to Launch Alternative Path to Licensure for Experienced Professionals - Monday, March 21, 2016

In a continued effort to make the path to architectural licensure more inclusive, design professionals with substantial experience working for an architect will have an opportunity to satisfy the Architectural Experience Program’s (AXP) requirements through an online portfolio.Developed by the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB), the e-Portfolio is designed solely for professionals who put licensure on hold due to career, personal, or economic decisions.

This alternative option, which will launch June 29, 2016, was approved by NCARB’s Board of Directors following feedback from state licensing boards. The e-Portfolio will only be available to professionals who can document two years of experience that is older than five years. To qualify for licensure through this alternative option, candidates will also need to meet their licensing board’s education and examination requirements, and have an active NCARB Record.

“This is an exciting opportunity for professionals who had to put their licensure goals on hold to care for loved ones, serve in the military, or any number of reasons,” said NCARB President Dennis S. Ward, FAIA, NCARB. “The e-Portfolio will appeal to designers and managers who want to take their career to the next level.”

“The new e-Portfolio alternative is a great example of NCARB leading the charge in the equitable practice movement,” said AIA San Francisco Treasurer and Equity by Design Founder Rosa Sheng, AIA, LEED APBD+C. “This program will create a long discussed and much needed pathway for those who have more unique career journeys in becoming an architect. Our profession should reflect the diversity of the population we serve and this program supports that goal.”

Under the AXP—currently known as the Intern Development Program (IDP) until June 29—aspiring architects can earn full credit for experience reported within eight months, and half credit for experience beyond eight months and up to five years. This new option opens the door for those with experience beyond five years to seek licensure.

“Completing the AXP through the traditional path of reporting 3,740 hours will remain the primary way to satisfy a licensing board’s experience requirements,” said Ward. “However, the e-Portfolio option will enable accomplished professionals to complete the AXP through demonstrated competency for the AXP tasks through exhibits.”

In the coming months, NCARB will work with state licensing boards that intend to accept the e-Portfolio option.

Looking for an ARE Study Course? - Wednesday, June 03, 2015

Are you an ARE candidate looking for a study course? Various Ohio components of the American Institute of Architects offer low cost study courses. These classes are open to both members and non-members. For a complete 2015 schedule, please visit the AIA Ohio website here: ARE Study Calendar. Then contact the appropriate AIA component to sign up!


Amy Kobe, Hon AIA  Executive Director
77 S. High Street, 16th Floor • Columbus, Ohio 43215-6108
Tel: (614) 466-2316