Maintaining Your License
Featured in this section
Architects are required to maintain their license in order to continue practicing architecture in Ohio. This done through
- continued compliance with Ohio's laws
- completion of continuing architectural education
- completion of a renewal application at the end of the license term. **All Ohio architectural licenses expire at the end of odd-numbered calendar years **
All licenses are renewed online through the elicense system. The Board will send renewal notices via the elicense system to all licensees 60 days before the expiration of the license. This will be on November 1st of each odd-numbered calendar year. The renewal notice will be sent to the email associated with the architect's elicense account.
During renewal, architects will be asked to attest to the completion of 12 HSW CEUs. The architect will not be required to upload proof of CEU completion, but should retain those records for 7 years in case of audit.
The renewal application must be made online through the elicense system, and payment must be made online via mastercard or visa. There are no paper renewal applications, and checks cannot be accepted. Renewal fees are $125 plus a $3.50 transaction fee.